The deadline to enter the 2012 Global Freight Awards, formerly known as the IFWs, is rapidly approaching.

The 29 July cut-off date is just under two weeks away so if you believe that your company’s achievements deserve industry recognition, visit our awards website by clicking here. It really could not be any easier.

Formerly known as the IFW Awards, the gala event takes place at Embankment Gardens, London on Wednesday 21 November.

Lloyd’s Loading Editor Mike Weir said: “The highlights of the evening – the glittering venue, sparkling trophies and, most importantly, the guests and networking opportunities – are the cornerstones upon which we continue to build the industry’s most prestigious awards.

“Widely recognised as one of the most successful events in our illustrious history, last year’s event set a new benchmark, both for the organisers and the freight and logistics industry, but we are confident that this year’s event will set an even higher standard.”

Judged categories open for entry are:

Customer Care Award
Environment Award
Innovation Award – New Product
Innovation Award – New Process
Employer of the Year
Large Freight Forwarder of the Year (250 employees +)
Small/Medium Freight Forwarder of the Year
NVOCC of the Year
Project/HeavyLift Forwarder of the Year
Road Freight Award
Supply Chain Partnership Award
Young Freight Forwarder of the Year
Freight Personality of the Year.

Entries will be judged by a panel of industry experts, led by Tony Berkeley, Chairman of the Rail Freight Group, who include Robert Keen, Executive Director of BIFA; Dorothea Carvalho, Project Director of CILT; and Andrew Traill, Director of policy for the ESC.


As well as the judged categories, every year we invite shippers and freight forwarders to vote for the carriers and operators they feel have provided the best services over the past year, the greatest customer care-driven service and / or a high quality of performace standards.

The voted categories are:

Air Cargo Carrier of the Year
Container Line of the Year
Express Operator of the Year
Rail Freight Operator of the Year

The deadline for the first round of voting is also 29 July.


There are also opportunities to sponsor the event alongside CargoWise, Freightliner, Virgin Atlantic Cargo, Eurotunnel, Oceanic Resources International and casino sponsor Executive Personnel.

To enter the awards, click here

To vote for your favourite carrier, click here

To inquire about sponsorship, email [email protected]

To book a table for the gala awards night, click here

If you would like to comment on this story or any other, contact us at [email protected]